Imaging + Data Visualisation and Photography Research

On our first Friday lecture with Paul he explained that we were going to be completing three projects over this module in relation to the lectures he would be giving us. Three projects->

-1.Photographic

-2.Illustrative

-3.Data visualisation

The first was photography, based on Micro and Macro we have to complete two sets of six photos. He asks us to use composition rules when taking photos, to also consider narratives within our images and to learn how to save and compress images for screen.

Macro- Landscapes, City scapes etc. He suggests taking lots of images then selected the best six. Also he wants us to think of stories behind our images. What are we trying to say?

Micro- A set of small individual items. They can link to the Macro set or can be completly different approach.

As part of this task he asked us to also open a flickr account to make the hand in of images easier, heres a link to my photostream!

http://www.flickr.com/photos/116364146@N05/

PHOTOGRAPHY RESEARCH->

With the goal of taking ultimately different photographs I set out to find techniques that professionals use to make their images unique. Previous to this I havent really had any proper exprience with proper photography, normally I just take photos with little or no thought put in about framing the subject, composition or lighting etc. I think it will also be hard for me to incorperate narratives into my photographs, the things I would normally take photos of are just things that would inspire me or interest me it could be fun trying to take thought provoking images.

I have found an arcticle online during my research that feature multiple pointers apparently can help people find fresh and unusual angles in photography. The source is Wayne Turner- http://www.picturecorrect.com

1. Don’t stand infront of the subject- most people take photos at eyelevel (approx 5 feet)- use your feet and move around.

2.Embrace embarassment and try lying on your stomach.

3. Vary the height- use this exercise- start at a resonable distance from the subject. Take a shot firstly standing, then crouching, on your knees, backside and finally belly (could even try lying on your back). Now review all the shots and select the best. This exercise produces a wide variety of angles and perspectives making it easier to find the most suitable shot.

4. Birds eye view- It doesn’t necessarily have to be a really high and dangerous position, anything that is just above normal eye level. Its just another way to experiment with angles that might produce more interesting images.

My favorite photograph from this arcticle was one taken by David Hobcote.Image

Its called ‘I watched the bee, the bee watched me’. The subject was positioned infront of the sun to cause shadow, this combined with the use of a low level flash to sufficently light the reeds create a cool effect. I really like the low angled prespective of this shot, it gives the viewer a new way to see the world, obviously from the pov of a bee. The shawdow created by the man makes him look collosal compared to everything else in frame. Brilliant!

I also picked up a book by Fran Halsall called ‘Light and Shadow- The Art of Landscape Photography’. The book was really useful in terms of the basic sort of rules of photography like the Rule of thirds, etc (In progress)

FREE TIME->

At the beginning of last semester it was the first time I had actually tried digital painting. This semester we haven’t had any projects that require any digital design work, So to keep in touch with the digital work I decided to muck about with a little caricature of myself. Its still not finished but I thought I should throw it up here to show abit of the process.

DSC_0843

This is the first sketch I done, was just playing around and just decided it looked like it would be both fun and challenging to paint.

footer1

At this point I was just trying to get a base layer of colour and tone into the painting.

footer-Recovered

At this point I have tried to put in some of the finer details and I have played around with the background. Theres still a good bit of work that needs done but its getting there.

Leave a Reply

